Worker Writes #CA1

MY favourite poem would be by a domestic worker, Rolinda O.Espanola, from the Philippines. the poem is titled, ‘My Wish’.

My Wish

I wish to see you blow those candles each year

to be a part of the crowd who sing and cheer

I wish to be on that stage every school end

to see those beaming smile when medals and ribbons pinned

I wish to give you bathe, dress up and tie your hair

to hold your hand and walk to school

and be glad if you say its my mom standing there

I wish to hug you every time you come home crying

to make your milk and on the light if your dreaming

But more than that I wish to be a good mother

and the fact that i can’t be if i have to stay there

So here i am going far from you

and wish someday you’ll understand what did i do

to work abroad is the only decent act i know

to support your education and give a better tomorrow

Those are simple wishes that can easily be granted

but the reality I have to stay here though going home is what i wanted

🙂 this is my favourite poem out of the rest because i could feel every word she is saying. the words are so simple that i can picture whatever she wishes to do with her daughter back at home. every single time i read it, it just makes me picture a movie scene full of love and hardship. and honestly, i love watching people show their true emotions and this poem shows that true feeling of love she had to offer for her daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

